When White Lies Become Black Ones.

by Tamara Jacobs

source

We’re all victims of the little white lie. The tiny exaggeration that we believe will get us out of trouble. But often they get us into even more trouble. People who tell white lies justify them by saying they’re not liars. This makes it especially difficult when the little white lie, turns into a series of little white lies. When one finds themselves tied in such a web of falesies, that they don’t remember what they said and who they are counting on to keep up with their story.

I don’t write this post as someone above any of this. I tell white lies when I feel I need to. Often I have been told that there is no point. That white lies give more importance to an event then it deserves, which is true. I’ve also been told that I am going to get caught, or at the very least spend that time worrying about getting caught. So why do I keep telling them? Why do any of us?

In my effort to try to understand why people tell white lies I stumbled across this answer: ‘A white lie would cause only relatively minor discord if it were uncovered’. I find this interesting as again, this is what we white liars like to tell ourselves. Except the pettier the lie, the more embarrasing it is to get caught. For instance, if I didn’t feel like meeting a friend, I might tell them I’m not feeling well. But then if they later discover that I was out, they’re going to feel more offended knowing that I was sneaky about it, then they would have been had I been upfront.

The funniest part about white lies, is that their definition varies from person to person. What I consider a white lie, might be a black lie to someone else, and vice versa. In other words, a liar is a liar, so why should I trust that your lie was white?

